CTTIC: Free Webinar – Video Game Localization….(must click ‘continue to payment’ on registration form to complete process)

October 7, 2021 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

CTTIC: Free Webinar – Video Game Localization….(must click ‘continue to payment’ on registration form to complete process)

CTTIC Presents….

Video Game Localization

By: Marina Ilari

Time:  3 pm ADT, 2 pm EDT, 1 pm CDT, 12 pm MDT, 11 am PDT    –    A Zoom invite will be emailed to registrants on October 6

Marina Ilari, CT is an ATA certified English-Spanish translator with over 15 years of experience in the translation industry. She has worked as a translator, editor, and quality assurance specialist for many companies around the world with a special focus on creative translations and video game localization. She is the chief executive officer of Terra Translations and co-host of the podcast about translation, En Pantuflas. Contact: marina@terratranslations.com.


Summary: Video games have blossomed into the most profitable entertainment industry in the world. The mobile technology boom in recent years has revolutionized the industry and allowed access to a new generation of gamers. This has led gaming companies to continue to focus on the localization of their games, and opened the door to new opportunities for talented translators. Translating video games can seem like a lot of fun, but this type of localization requires a broad skill set compared to other translation specialties. From in-game text, to user manuals, to marketing and promotional materials, the variety of texts for translation is just one of the many challenges that translators in this field must face. This presentation will outline the game localization process, the different types of content that needs translation, the profile of translators working in this specialization, the challenges translators can face, as well as opportunities to specialize in this area so you can press start to video game localization!